• Welcome to Pet Natter! We'd love for you to be part of our community of helpful and friendly pet lovers. Click here to register now. It's really quick and easy.

The forum is a welcoming place for everyone, whether you're a pet expert or a complete newbie. So jump right in and say hello, ask a question, or offer some advice.

We hope you enjoy being part of Pet Natter. Join now.

Is it better to have a pet room?

Jacob

Reaction score
I noticed some people tend to keep all their pets in one room. There are typically caged animals but sometimes can be cats and dogs if they are small and need to be kept in a separate area of the house while no one is home. Do you think it is better to have a pet room vs having pets all over your house?

Walkies

Reaction score
I think if you have a lot of caged animals, it would be easier to care for them if you have a dedicated room for sure. I feel like if you just have some dogs or cats, a fish tank and a hamster, it is not a big deal to have them in different areas of the house. Cats and dogs can roam freely in most homes and tanks and hamsters don't take up much room.

MichaelNY

Reaction score
Yeah, it really depends on the pet. If it's a dog then obviously you dont want to keep it in one room the whole time! If you have birds, hamsters, fish, then maybe...

Petz

Reaction score
If you intend on having a lot of pets that need to be kept in tanks and cages, it does make it easier to care for them. I have a friend who has over 15 reptiles and aside from one, his HUGE snake, he keeps them all in a spare room in his house.

lisaB

Reaction score
Pet rooms are great for collections and breeding. I would never have a pet room for something like a cat or a dog unless they were still able to free-roam the house and the room was only meant to serve as a "play area" where their toys and such were kept.

chintumiya

Reaction score

Would You Give Your Pets a Room of Their Own — Even Their Own Condo?​