• Welcome to Pet Natter! We'd love for you to be part of our community of helpful and friendly pet lovers. Click here to register now. It's really quick and easy.

The forum is a welcoming place for everyone, whether you're a pet expert or a complete newbie. So jump right in and say hello, ask a question, or offer some advice.

We hope you enjoy being part of Pet Natter. Join now.

Have you ever had to give a pet away?

Joggergirl

Reaction score
Years ago, before we got pets, my dad found an abandoned dog on the street. He was a cute little guy, but wasn't trained at all. At the point too, he was fairly old, and likely had no training at all. We tried to take care of him, train him, but it didn't help. We decided to give him to a friend, who had more time and could train at risk dogs no problem.

That dog survived and thrived with the new owner. He lived another 6 years before he passed. We got to see him a few times after we gave him up, and he was all cheerful and happy. Was happy our friend took such good care of him.

Have you ever had to give a pet away?

DannyBoy

Reaction score
Yes, i have given away lots of Kitten and puppies to friends and family members. In order to manage the number of pets in my house, i usually give away the kitten or puppies when they are still young. That way, they will not feel withdrawn. But there is this one time i had to give away a grown up dog that i was alredy fond of. It really messed me up, because i ended up missing him so much.

Chloe1992

Reaction score
Yes, last Christmas i gave out 3 Chihuahua puppies to my cousins in exchange for an African Grey Parrot.

Elsie

Reaction score