• Welcome to Pet Natter! The official forum of TheGoldfishTank.com We'd love for you to be part of our community of helpful and friendly pet lovers. Click here to register now. It's really quick and easy.

The forum is a welcoming place for everyone, whether you're a pet expert or a complete newbie. So jump right in and say hello, ask a question, or offer some advice.

We hope you enjoy being part of Pet Natter. Join now.

Euthanize or not?

henriean

Reaction score
Hi, ok, so I’ve had goldfish for 4 years, and the oldest (the one I’ve had from the start) is kind of sick. There are now 3 fish in a 250l tank, and the two others are perfectly healthy, and water tests suggests everything is fine. That’s why I think the last one has something individually not contagious that never gets better. I think it happened in the last 125l tank he had with another one. I used an automatic feeder for a holiday, but it was defect and fed all the food, killing the other one due to the high levels of nitrate. I got super mad, and I have always been very careful about automatic feeders later on.

By kind of sick I mean that he constantly have small semi-white patches on his skin (but they are never super prominent, just barely there, but could look like traces of fungus), typically on the same two places + swim bladder problems, for a year now, but when feeding he eats and acts normally, but often he doesn’t have the energy to do else than hovering by the surface in a corner because of his swim bladder. I’ve tried feeding peas, not feeding for a day a week, using salt in the water, heating the water a bit, and also more hardcore medicines. But nothing has healed him completely. I feel I don’t have any suggestions for healing him left, and I feel sorry for him. Even though I think he could live for more years in this condition, I’m not sure it’s humane.